Game-Day Munching

October is an exciting month for us for many reasons.  One thing we enjoy is the beginning of the NBA season (go NY Knicks!) and the continuation of NFL games.  Although our teams don’t always do well (let’s not talk about the Giants right now), the fall weather mixed with football and a great game-day spread of snacks and dinners are always fun to share with family/friends.

This month, I used Johnsonville Italian sausage meat and Ore-Ida shoestring fries to make several dishes to accompany our games:

Since I have a busy schedule, I don’t always have a lot of time during the week for dinners.  For this reason, I particularly appreciate dinners that are quick and easy, but also delicious.  The photo below is one that I made with Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage Links.  Earlier this year was the first time I tried Johnsonville sausage, and I really think it’s tasty.  This recipe is one-pot Italian, which makes it easy to clean up.  Perfect for an after-work meal!

Image

In addition to the one-pot pasta meal, I made several other dinner recipes using Johnsonville’s sausage this month.  My favorite was the Italian Sliders:Image

I made a few additions to the meat before shaping them – a dash of Worcestershire sauce, 1 egg, and freshly shredded parmesan cheese.  They turned out moist and flavorful.  My only regret was that I should have made more for extra leftovers!  I topped them with a slice of parmesan cheese, spinach, and tomato and served with crispy Ore-Ida shoestring french fries.  Just writing about this meal is making me hungry!

In addition to these two meals this month, I made this meal today: Image

Not only did it taste good, but it also made my home smell amazing.  Plus I love how colorful it is!  Put it on a kaiser roll, and you have a great sandwich to munch on during games.  This would be a great meal to make if you have guests over to watch a game, because it’s simple to make, even if the servings are doubled or tripled.

For snacks during a NY Giants game, I served more shoestring fries by Ore-Ida and made two different dips to go with them.  The first dip, European Fry Sauce, was so simple to make (only 3 ingredients and literally a 2-minute prep) that I was skeptical of how it would taste.  Well, I had nothing to worry about, because it was really good!  The red wine vinegar gives it a unique flavor.  Next time, I may add a little cracked pepper for extra seasoning, but that’s just personal preference.

Image

The other fry dip I made, is my creation.  I seasoned the Ore-Ida shoestring french fries and shredded parmesan cheese over them as they baked.  The dip is a mix of dill, garlic, sour cream, and mayonnaise.  It was good with the fries and would probably be great with battered fried fish.Image

It was exciting to make all of this food, and I can’t wait to see what I can serve in November.

I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position) and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com.

Products received from advertiser are only used for experienced-based reviews on Trickle of Consciousness. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Jacolynd.

Leave a Reply

